Trustee Election Information | NorthWest Arkansas Community College

Main Content Start

NWACC Board of Trustees Election Information

Northwest Arkansas Community College (NWACC) is governed by a local Board of Trustees composed of nine members who are residents and qualified electors of the NWACC taxing district, the Rogers and Bentonville public school districts.

Trustees are elected by zones for terms of up to six years by the qualified electors of each particular NWACC zone at the general election. All nine trustee positions were up for election in November 2012.

The newly elected members took office on January 1, 2013. They drew for initial terms of 2, 4, and 6 years at their annual meeting in January 2013.

Trustees are listed below by zone and their term expiration dates.












Mr. Lucas Pointer

Dr. DeAnne Witherspoon

Mrs. Rachel Harris

Mr. Todd Schwartz

Mr. Ron Branscum

Mr. Mark Scott

Mr. Michael Pearce

Mr. Mauricio Herrera

Mr. Joe Spivey

Term Expires










The map below showing the NWACC zones was approved by resolution by the NWACC Board of Trustees on Saturday, July 14, 2012, and by the Benton County Election Commission on Wednesday, July 18, 2012.

Each district had approximately 17,300 residents, plus or minus no more than 3%, as of the 2010 census.

Candidates for the NWACC Board of Trustees run by zone and are elected on a nonpartisan basis. The order in which the names of the respective candidates are to appear on the ballot shall be determined by lot by the county board of election commissioners (Act 47 of 2017).

For future reference, any person desiring to be a candidate for a position on the Board of Trustees shall, no later than 12:00 noon of the 70th day prior to the general election file a notarized statement of such candidacy with the Benton County Clerk.

At the time of filing the statement of candidacy, the candidate pays a ballot fee of three dollars ($3.00) and files a petition containing the signatures of at least twenty-five (25) qualified electors from their own particular zone, requesting that the name of such person be placed on the ballot as a candidate for that position on the Board of Trustees. Petition forms and notarized statements are available at the Benton County Clerk's Office, 215 E Central Ave, Bentonville, AR, Room 217.

For more information on NWACC's Board of Trustees, contact Mr. Jim Hall, NWACC Executive Director for Community and Government Relations, or 479-619-4182.

Map for Board of Trustee Elections