NWACC Eagle View Staff Receive 14 Awards in State Contest

Main Content Start

NWACC Eagle View Staff Receive 14 Awards in State Contest

             Image of NWACC Eagle View Staff with Awards

Members of the NWACC Eagle View student newspaper staff received 14 awards in a statewide competition conducted by the Arkansas College Media Association.

Awards were presented April 12 to the Eagle View team at the annual Arkansas College Media Association convention at Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia. All competition divisions are open to all member colleges and universities in Arkansas. NWACC students and their work compete against four-year private and public institutions.

Three of the awards received were in the General Excellence division, the most prestigious of the contest sections.

  • The NWACC Eagle View received an honorable mention in the Newspaper of the Year category. The judge for this general excellence category reviewed five editions of the NWACC Eagle View from calendar year 2023. The judge commented, “A quality publication that provides the readers with what they need to know on this campus. Solid work in each and every aspect of the publication.”
  • Morgan Nunley, who served as online editor during the fall 2023 semester, received second place in the Website Editor of the Year category. He was recognized for creating and posting exclusive online content on the Eagle View’s blogsite, https://eagleview.news.blog/, in addition to publishing a curated selection of stories that appeared first in print editions of the Eagle View.
  • Delaney Reaves, editor-in-chief for the NWACC Eagle View during the 2023-24 academic year, received an honorable mention in the Newspaper Editor of the Year category. The judge wrote, “A fantastic editor by all accounts, she has been a strong worker and quality leader within the newsroom. This is clearly the kind of person everyone wants to work for and work with.”

Samantha McClain, editor-in-chief of the Eagle View in spring 2023 and managing editor in fall 2023, received a first place in the category of breaking news (within 24 hours of the event) in the online division. Her story, titled, “Anti-war protesters speak against the violence in Gaza,” covered a Rogers protest on a Sunday afternoon in November.

In the same category of breaking news—online, Reaves and Gillian Bunting received a second-place award for former Gov. Asa Hutchinson’s announcement of his presidential bid. The event occurred on the Bentonville square in late April of 2023. Reaves and McClain also received a third place in the same category for their coverage of the May millage vote that would have restored the college’s property tax rate to 3 mills.

The Eagle View’s first digital e-publication posted in late 2023 received first-place honors in the multimedia package category. McClain, aided by Professor Duane Coleman, spearheaded the effort, and Nunley and Reaves provided significant contributions. Other students contributing to the edition were Vivian Mejia, Kyndal Kohl, Alex Diaz, Johanna Gonzalez and Madison De Lia.

Other awards received by Eagle View writers and staff members included:

  • Thatcher Reckner, second place, online review for a movie review of “Tick, Tick… Boom!”
  • Brooklyn Meek, third place in newspaper column writing and an honorable mention in headline writing, both for a column and its headline: “Balancing Books and Baby Bottles.”
  • Abigail Salazar, third place in newspaper art/illustration
  • Kyndal Kohl, honorable mention in newspaper reviews for a review of the book titled, “The Three Mothers.”
  • Adam Bannister and Bryce Watson, honorable mention in online meeting/speech story for coverage of Jerry Mitchell’s keynote presentation as a part of Spring Arts and Culture Festival 2023
  • Reaves, honorable mention in online feature writing for “Support Through the Journey.”

Nine NWACC students and adviser Debbie Miller attended the ACMA conference and awards ceremony. Sessions included podcasting, freelancing, and lessons learned by a panel of television journalists early in their careers with Arkansas television outlets. The trip was funded in part by a grant from the Student Activity Fund Review Board.