Skilled Trades Policies and Procedures | NorthWest Arkansas Community College

Main Content Start

Skilled Trades Policies & Procedures


View NWACC's skilled trades policies and procedures and learn more about attendance, financial assistance, payment, dropping a class and more. 

 

HVAC Certification

  • Regular attendance and participation in labs/lectures is expected.

  • Absences may be excused if the instructor is contacted in advance with all missed assignments being completed.

Financial Assistance Resources:

Workforce Investment Act (WIA), the nation's principal workforce development legislation, providing funds to address the employment and training needs for adults, dislocated workers and youth.  For more information, contact your local Arkansas Workforce Center.

Arkansas Rehabilitation Services mission is to prepare Arkansans with disabilities to work and lead productive and independent lives.  Arkansas Rehabilitation Services (ARS) provides a variety of training and career preparation programs. 

Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) is a federal program that assists dislocated workers with opportunities to obtain the skills, resources, and support they need to become reemployed. 

Veteran Assistance (VA) provides funds for eligible members of the military forces. 

Single Parent Scholarship Fund of Benton County (SPSF) are given to low-income single parents who are pursuing post-secondary education in preparation for skilled employment.  Eligibility criteria and application requirements vary by county. 

Student Loans may be available to cover the cost of your career training.  Check with your loan provider of choice.  Example loan programs that are available for career training include:

NWACC's HVAC program adheres to the college's payment policies and options. View payment policies and options to learn more. 

  • You may drop from a trades program at any time by notifying trades@nwacc.edu. NOTE: For NWACC credit classes this is a different process.
  • You may be eligible for a refund if you officially drop from classes within the specified refund periods according to program guidelines.
  • Full refunds will be issued (less $10.00 registration fee) for drop requests received prior to the first class meeting.
  • After the first class meeting, 80% refunds will be offered for drop requests received prior to published drop dates on the Workforce trades class calendar.
  • Tuition and class fees paid by cash, check or credit card will be refunded by check and mailed in approximately 2 to 3 weeks.
  • All refund checks will be mailed to student.


Electrical & Plumbing Apprenticeships

  • Apprentices must have employment sponsorship with a licensed Arkansas Master of the trade to register into Apprenticeship Programs.
  • Apprenticeship applicants must register for the Apprenticeship program within 30 days of employment.
  • Apprentices must register for and pay associated fees for the program each year prior to attending classes.
  • Past due balances will need to be reconciled with the cashier before registration into the program can be processed.
  • If apprentice's employer is paying tuition and employment ends, the apprentice need to immediately notify the Program Director about the change in status and plans.
  • If apprentice is planning on staying in the program, the apprentice needs to call an NWACC cashier to make payment arrangements.
  • If apprentice has found employment elsewhere and the new employer will be paying tuition, the apprentice will need to notify the Program Director of the change and provide all new employee information.
  • It is the apprentice's responsibility to notify the Program Director of potential previous experience credit or programs attended at the time of registration.

  • Apprentices are expected to attend every class for which you are registered, but a minimum of 80% class attendance is required to complete the attendance requirement.
  • Absences may be excused if the instructor is contacted in advance with all missed assignments being completed.
  • Excused absences due to emergencies will require documentation.

  • Apprentices will receive either an “S” (Satisfactory) or “U” (Unsatisfactory) grade in each course.
  • Satisfactory (S) grade is earned through achieving 70% overall
    • This is made up of 70% coursework and 30% attendance
    • Course work includes: class activities, quizzes, exams, classwork, projects, participation, lab-work, and attitude
  • Unsatisfactory (U) grade results from:
    • Failing to meet 80% attendance requirement
    • Not adhering to drop/add/withdrawal policies
  • Apprentices need to earn an “S” for all required and elective courses to achieve certificate completion.
  • An unsatisfactory grade results in no Continuing Education Units being awarded.
  • Apprentices not making a 70% overall grade may be required to repeat the year and/or class hours not credited towards their completion.
  • Apprentices can appeal grades by submitting a written request for review to the Program Advisory Committee.

Financial Assistance Resources:

Workforce Investment Act (WIA), the nation's principal workforce development legislation, providing funds to address the employment and training needs for adults, dislocated workers and youth.  For more information, contact your local Arkansas Workforce Center.

Arkansas Rehabilitation Services mission is to prepare Arkansans with disabilities to work and lead productive and independent lives.  Arkansas Rehabilitation Services (ARS) provides a variety of training and career preparation programs. 

Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) is a federal program that assists dislocated workers with opportunities to obtain the skills, resources, and support they need to become reemployed. 

Veteran Assistance (VA) provides funds for eligible members of the military forces. 

Single Parent Scholarship Fund of Benton County (SPSF) are given to low-income single parents who are pursuing post-secondary education in preparation for skilled employment.  Eligibility criteria and application requirements vary by county. 

Student Loans may be available to cover the cost of your career training.  Check with your loan provider of choice.  Example loan programs that are available for career training include:

NWACC's apprenticeship programs adhere to the college's payment policies and options. View payment policies and options to learn more. 

  • Apprentices may drop from the program at any time by notifying apprenticeship@nwacc.edu. 
  • If apprentices miss too many classes, they may be subject to being dropped from the program with the potential of no credit given.
  • If apprentices are dropped from the program, they will have to apply for reinstatement into the program with the Program Advisory Committee.

  • Apprentices may be eligible for a refund if they officially drop from classes within the specified refund periods according to program guidelines.
    • Full refunds will be issued (less $35.00 registration fee for Electrical and $50.00 for Plumbing) for drop requests received prior to the first class meeting.
    • After the first class meeting, refunds will be issued on a prorated basis.
  • Tuition and class fees paid by cash, check or credit card will be refunded by check and mailed in approximately 2 to 3 weeks.
  • All refund checks will be mailed to apprentices .