Electrical Apprenticeship | NorthWest Arkansas Community College

Main Content Start

Electrical Apprenticeship


Electrician

NWACC's electrical apprenticeship program provides a hands-on educational experience by combining classroom instruction and on-the-job training. 

To participate in the electrical apprenticeship program, you will first need to be 18 years of age, employed with an electrical contractor in the state of Arkansas.

Upon registering for this program, you will gain an apprenticeship license issued by the state of Arkansas.

NWACC's electrical apprenticeship program lasts four years, or 576 hours of instruction and 8,000 hours of on-the-job training. Classes begin in July and are in session through April.

Upon completion of the 576 contact hours and 8,000 hours of on-the-job training, you will be eligible to take the Journeyman Electrician Exam, administered by the state of Arkansas.

 

Courses & Duration

  • GED or high school diploma
  • Students must be 18 years of age
  • Employment with an electrical contractor in the state of Arkansas

The electrical apprenticeship program lasts four years, or 576 hours of instruction and 8,000 hours of on-the-job training. Classes begin in July and are in session through April.

The program requires both classroom instruction hours (144 contact hours/year) as well as on-the-job training hours (2000/ year).

1st Year Initial AR Apprentice License

  • Upon entry into the Electrical Apprenticeship Program, apprentices will receive an Electrical Apprenticeship License form.
  • Upon completion of the form, the apprentice must return the application to the NWACC apprenticeship office. DO NOT MAIL this form to Little Rock.
  • Once received and the fees are paid, an apprentice license will be ordered from the Department of Labor, and will be mailed to the address of the apprentice.

*Please notify the NWACC apprenticeship office of address changes and employer changes to ensure that licenses have accurate information and are sent to the right address.

Renewal AR Apprentice License

  • Apprentices will receive a notice of renewal, approximately 30 days prior to expiration. It is the responsibility of the apprentice to pay the renewal fee for their license each year.
  • Upon renewal, the license will be mailed to their home address.*
  • Should a license expire, the apprentice must notify the NWACC apprenticeship office. Reinstatement of license can only be done through this office.
  • A renewal/reinstatement fee may be required by the state office.

*Please notify the NWACC apprenticeship office of address changes and employer changes to ensure that licenses have accurate information and are sent to the right address.

 

Completion of Apprenticeship

There are two pathways for electrical apprentices in Arkansas.

  • Arkansas Residential Journeyman Electrician
    Upon completion of both of the following 288 class hours AND 4,000 hours of OJT hours specializing in Residential Electrical work (1-2 family homes), apprentices have the option of applying to test for Arkansas Residential Journeyman Electrician license.

  • Arkansas Journeyman Electrician
    Upon completion of both of the following 576 class hours AND 8,000 OJT hours, apprentices have the option of applying to test for Arkansas Journeyman Electrician license.

    Satisfaction of 576 class hours and 8,000 OJT hours automatically completes the US DOL Registered Apprenticeship for Interior Electricians and awards a US DOL credential recognized across the US.

Access Arkansas Residential Journeyman and Arkansas Journeyman Electrician license application

 

AR Electrical Licensing Information