<< Back

  • The Haiti Project is a student driven project with guidance from our professors
    • Looking at Haitian education and how we can facilitate education in Haiti.
    • Looking at tourism and how we can facilitate tourism in Haiti
      • 2 things to consider:
        • How to apply the principles from my class?
        • What are my class objectives?
    • “Make A Difference”
      • Caribbean Awareness Week
      • Fundraiser
      • Study Abroad
      • Develop Entrepreneurship learning modules (translate them into French)
  • Resources
    • EMPACTS LAB/BH 2455
    • Dr. Dianne Phillips
      • 479-619-2242
      • Will do orientations on use of computer technologies
 
Team 1: Find Out We need Team Members for this team
  • Contact Haitians
    • In NWA
    • In Haiti
      • Question them about what they need educationally
      • Develop survey or questionnaire
 
Team 2: Entrepreneurship
  • SIFE partnership
  • Develop learning modules
  • Haitian commerce history
  • Haitian current commerce
  • Team Members:
    • James Selvey ---- jselvey@nwacc.edu
    • Michael Reid ---- reidhomes@gmail.com
    • Kenneth Miller ---- kmiller@nwacc.edu
    • Richard Ward ---- hwang1@nwacc.edu
    •  

Team 3: Tourism

  • 3a. Learning modules
    • Use information gathered to show off Haiti
    • Teaching people how to do tourism
      • Destination places
        • will facilitate entrepreuneurship
  • 3b. Past times/ Traditions
    • Music
    • Food
    • Sports
    • Religion
    • Art
    • Film
    • Literature
  • 3c. GIS/ GPS
    • Produce map of Haiti
  • 3d. Destinations in Haiti
    • Historic sites
    • Natural sites
  • Team 3 Members:
    • Janeth Duan ---- lduranvillegas@nwacc.edu
    • Amilcar Zelaya ---- amilcarzelaya@gmail.com
    • Dennis A Zelaya ---- dzelaya1@nwacc.edu
    • Stephanie Guzman ---- sguzman93@gmail.com
    • Jessica Ferguson ---- jferguson5@nwacc.edu
    • Marian Ortiz ---- lizbethortiz83@gmail.com
    • Jeff Hopkins ---- jhopkins2@nwacc.edu
    • Jeremy Dry ---- erroldry@yahoo.com
    • Natalie Wahl ---- nwahl@nwacc.edu
    • Erinn Mitsch ---- erinnmitsch@hotmail.com
    • Charlotte Whittmore ---- cwhittmore@nwacc.edu
    • Ricardo Hinojosa ---- ricardohinojosa@rocketmail.com
    • Brooke Kerstiens ---- bk92@sbcglobal.net
    • Jessica Smiley ---- jsmiley2@nwacc.edu
 
Team 4: Resources & Awareness
  • Caribbean Awareness Week
  • Donors
    • Walton Foundation
  • Study Abroad
    • University of Massachusetts
      • Haiti Today: People, Culture, Politics
        • Dr. Mark Prou, Chair Africana Studies Department at University of Massachusetts Boston
  • Team 4 Members:
    • Natalie Wahl ---- nwahl@nwacc.edu
    • Charlotte Whittmore ---- cwhittmore@nwacc.edu
    • Jeremy Dry ---- erroldry@yahoo.com
    • Brad Cooper ---- bcoope5@nwacc.edu
 
Advisors
  • Dr. Huggard---- chuggard@nwacc.edu
  • Dr. St. Jean ---- ystjean@nwacc.edu
 
Other Matters
  • Students interested in participating in the project and could not attend should email Dr. Huggard chuggard@nwacc.edu.
  • A second meeting is being planned for the week of September 26. Look for the announcement.