NWACC Board of Trustees Election

Northwest Arkansas Community College is governed by a local Board of Trustees composed of nine (9) members who are residents and qualified electors of the NWACC taxing district, the Rogers and Bentonville public school districts.

Trustees are elected by districts for terms up to six (6) years by the qualified electors of each particular NWACC district at the general election. All nine trustee positions were up for election in November 2012.

The newly elected members take office on January 1, 2013, when they will draw for initial terms of 2, 4 and 6 years at their Annual Meeting in January.

The map below of the NWACC district zones was approved by resolution by the NWACC Board of Trustees on Saturday, July 14, 2012, and by the Benton County Election Commission on Wednesday, July 18, 2012.

Each district has approximately 17,300 residents, plus or minus no more than 3%.

Candidates for the NWACC Board of Trustees run by district and are elected on a nonpartisan basis. Names of candidates for each district are arranged alphabetically on the ballot.

For future reference, any person desiring to be a candidate for a position on the Board of Trustees shall, not later than 12:00 noon of the 70th day prior to the general election file a notarized statement of such candidacy with the Benton County Clerk.

At the time of filing the statement of candidacy, the candidate pays a ballot fee of three dollars ($3.00) and files a petition containing the signatures of at least fifty (50) qualified electors from their own particular district, requesting that the name of such person be placed on the ballot as a candidate for that position on the Board of Trustees. Petition forms and notarized statements are available at the Benton County Clerk’s Office, 215 E Central Ave, Bentonville, AR, Room 217.

For more information on NWACC’s Board of Trustees, contact Mr. Jim Hall, NWACC Executive Director for Community and Government Relations, jhall@nwacc.edu or 479-619-4182.

The following persons will serve on the Board of Trustees effective January 1, 2013.

District 1
Scott Grigsby
District 2
Daniel Shewmaker
District 3
Mike Shupe
District 4
Todd Schwartz
District 5
District 6
Ric Clifford
District 7
Amy Forrest
District 8
District 9
Joe Spivey

Election Zone Map

Select map above to see a larger PDF version