Student Clubs and Organizations

Clubs & Organizations Student Information Center (SIC)Student Ambassador and Activities Board (SAAB)

Student Government Association (SGA)


 

Currently Active Clubs and Organizations:


ALPFA of NWACC - The Association of Latino Professionals in Finance and Accounting (ALPFA) of NWACC exists to build effective leadership and communication skills in a business context for NWACC's Latino students while they increase their understanding of the business world by building relationships with business leaders. Connect with us on Facebook

Advisors: Dr. Bryan Aguiar - baguiar@nwacc.edu, Christy Reynolds - creynolds@nwacc.edu,    Kathryn Birkhead - kbirkhead@nwacc.edu

Art Club at NWACC -  The purpose of the club is to increase the visibility of visual art on campus, to increase the knowledge of aesthetics, to broaden world view and visual art across cultures, and to empower artists to step out of their social and creative comfort zones.  http://www.facebook.com/NwaccArtClub

Advisor: Stephanie Lewis  - slewis@nwacc.edu

Baptist Collegiate Ministry - BCM connects students wanting to grow in Christ, to be part of a fellowship on campus, and to serve the spiritual and physical needs of others. Our meetings are every Tuesday at 12 noon, 2nd Floor of the Shewmaker Center. Lunch is provided. Special activities, worship times, and mission opportunities are offered each semester.

Advisors: Dixie Androes – dandroes@nwacc.edu, Larry Lord – llord@nwacc.edu.

Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship - The purpose of Chi Alpha is to fulfill the great commission (Matthew 28:19-20) by: sharing, discipling, and providing opportunities for fellowship, discussion, prayer and Biblical Training.

 Advisor: Philip Antin – pantin@nwacc.edu.

Climbing Club at NWACC  - The purpose of the Climbing Club is to connect students who are interested in climbing regardless of their experience level. The goal of the club is to introduce climbing to students that are interested in learning in a safe environment.

Advisors: Marcus Williams –mwilliams14@nwacc.edu

Creative Writing Club The purpose of this club is to create a friendly environment where people who enjoy writing can share their works and receive helpful criticism in order to refine their writing craft and further their writing ability.

 Advisor: Tim McGinn - tmcginn@nwacc.edu.

Cru at NWACC:  The purpose of Cru at NWACC is to introduce students to Christ and help them to grow in their faith through fellowship and study of the Bible as well as to inspire commitment to advancing the purposes of God in the world.

Advisor: Jessie Glover – jglover1@nwacc.edu

Drama Club at NWACC - The purpose of the Drama Club is to promote the awareness of theatre arts for NWACC students on and off-camps, and to provide opportunities in theatre in addition to the academic curriculum of the theatre program.

Advisor: Ashley Edwards – aedwards3@nwacc.edu.

DREAMers of NWACCMembers of this club include allies of undocumented students and some undocumented students themselves who focus on making postsecondary education accessible for all young people, helping them stay in school to graduation.  Members also advocate for Arkansas’ youth through working for passage of the DREAM act at state and national levels.

Advisors:  Codie Ryan – cryan2@nwacc.edu, Kathryn Birkhead – kbirkhead@nwacc.edu

Emergency Preparedness Club - The purpose of EPC is to inform individuals in preparation and response to emergencies, to equip them with the knowledge, resources and tools to be prepared at home, and to be involved in the community.

Advisor:  Bruce Benz – bbenz@nwacc.edu.

Enactus (formerly “SIFE”) - “Seeing possibilities. Taking action. Enabling progress.”   We are a community of student, academic and business leaders committed to using the power of entrepreneurial action to transform lives and shape a better, more sustainable world. http://nwaccenactus.org

Advisor: Casey Hammond – chammond@nwacc.edu, Matthew Voss - mvoss2@nwacc.edu

Gamma Beta Phi - This society is an honor and service organization for students in colleges and universities in the United States. The objectives of the organization are to recognize and encourage excellence in education; to promote the development of leadership ability and character in its members; and to foster, disseminate, and improve education through appropriate service  projects.

Advisors: Marvin Galloway – mgallowa@nwacc.edu, Michael Willard – mwillard@nwacc.edu.

Gay-Straight Alliance -  The purpose of this group is to allow a safe atmosphere for students of any sexual orientation or gender preference to congregate and discuss issues pertinent to those individuals who identify as gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning and straight.

Advisors: April Brown – albrown@nwacc.edu

Hispanic Scholarship Fund Chapter - The purpose of HSF Scholars Chapter at NWACC is to promote academic success among Latino students, and to develop student leaders through professional development and community service.

Advisor: Jorge Amaral –  jamaral@nwacc.edu.

Hmong Culture Club – The purpose of this club is to promote awareness of Hmong culture and experience at NorthWest Arkansas Community College and it’s community; to serve as a venue for Hmong and other students interested in the Hmong culture.

Advisor: Lou Lo – llo@nwacc.edu.

International Students Club – The purpose of ISC is to foster friendship amongst international and domestic students, to promote global awareness to NWACC and the community through volunteering, and to enhance college experience through fun club activities.

Advisor: Mary Machira – mmachira@nwacc.edu.

Latin Culture Club - The Latin Culture Club fosters friendship among students with similar backgrounds while providing leadership opportunities at NWACC and in the local community. The Latin Culture Club also offers membership to ALPFA which expands opportunities for students who seek careers in accounting, finance, and all related business fields  

Advisor:  Codie Ryan - cryan2@nwacc.edu and Beverly Grau - bgrau@nwac.edu

Legion of Logic - The Legion of Logic seeks to offer freethinkers a place to speak their mind free of prejudice and to foster an environment for engaging in civil debate and interfaith cooperation.

Advisor: Doug Krueger - dkrueger@nwacc.edu.

National Society of Leadership and Success - The Society is a community of leaders dedicated to creating lasting positive change and dedication to leadership.  Pending members engage in leadership education through an orientation and two hour goal-setting training, three success network team meetings, and three interactive speaker events.  Once all events are completed and a student has been inducted as a member to the society, he or she has the option to attend three more success network team meetings and three more interactive speaker events to earn “The Excellence Award.”

Advisors: Jacqueline Jones: jjones13@nwacc.edu and Christina Mitchell: cmitchell@nwacc.edu.

Pacific Islanders Club -  The purpose of this group is to promote the Marshallese culture, history, and tradition.

Advisor: Lou Lo – llo@nwacc.edu.

Saudi Student Club – The purpose of this club is to provide an environment of camaraderie and support for students from Saudi Arabia.

Advisor: Lou Lo – llo@nwacc.edu.

Sigma Kappa Delta Sigma Kappa Delta – SKD is a chapter of the National English Honor Society for students at two-year colleges who LOVE to READ and want to encourage others to do so through on-campus and community service. Students must have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 to join. All majors are welcome!

Advisor: Sabrina Chesne -  schesne@nwacc.edu

Student Alumni Association - The purpose of this group is to engage current NWACC students and provide opportunities for them to network with NWACC Alumni. Annual initiatives include networking socials, NWACC Alumni Association Reunion, Alumni Annual Fund Phone-a-thon, community service projects, and social activities.

Advisor:

Student Ambassador and Activities Board - SAAB is composed of a team of student leaders selected to represent their fellow students to the college and the community.  SAAB students give campus tours and plan activities for NWACC students.

Advisor: Becky Hudson - rhudson1@nwacc.edu.

Student Government Association - The purpose of the SGA is to promote and maintain an active communication between the administration, faculty, staff, and students; to promote unity among the students of NorthWest Arkansas Community College; to promote an environment which shall permit the development of character and intellectual growth; and to ensure the personal freedom and general welfare of the student body; to be the voice for students in all campus affairs.

Advisors: Christy Reynolds - creynolds@nwacc.edu,  and Marcus Williams - mwilliams14@nwacc.edu

Student Nurses Association - This organization contributes to nursing education by providing for the highest quality health care, providing programs for current professional interests and concerns, and aiding in the development of the whole person, their professional role, and their responsibility for the health care of people in all walks of life. 

Advisors: Judy Reeves – jreeves3@nwacc.edu, and Evelene Suggs – esuggs@nwacc.edu

Vets on Campus - The mission of the Vets on Campus organization i  to provide a solid foundation and a voice for the Veterans on campus. Our focus is to network, educate and provide a social support team for all Veterans of NWACC. Membership: Any current student who is an Armed Forces member who has served or is currently serving and/or dependents of veterans.

Advisor: Dianna Portillo – dportill@nwacc.edu



Contact Information:
Becky Hudson
Director of Student Life 
479-986-6682
Location: Student Center Room 225 H
StudentLife@nwacc.edu