Student Clubs and Organizations

Currently Active Clubs and Organizations

ALPFA of NWACC

The Association of Latino Professionals in Finance and Accounting (ALPFA) of NWACC exists to build effective leadership and communication skills in a business context for NWACC's Latino students while they increase their understanding of the business world by building relationships with business leaders. Connect with us on Facebook Advisors: Dr. Bryan Aguiar - baguiar@nwacc.edu, Christy Reynolds - creynolds@nwacc.edu, Kathryn Birkhead - kbirkhead@nwacc.edu

Art Club at NWACC

The purpose of the club is to increase the visibility of visual art on campus, to increase the knowledge of aesthetics, to broaden world view and visual art across cultures, and to empower artists to step out of their social and creative comfort zones. http://www.facebook.com/NwaccArtClub
Advisor: Stephanie Lewis - slewis@nwacc.edu

Baptist Collegiate Ministry

BCM connects students wanting to grow in Christ, to be part of a fellowship on campus, and to serve the spiritual and physical needs of others. Weekly meetings with lunch provided, special activities, worship times, and/or mission opportunities are offered each semester. Visit www.facebook.com/bcmatnwacc for dates, times, and locations of events.
Advisors: Dixie Androes – dandroes@nwacc.edu, Larry Lord – llord@nwacc.edu.

Black Student Association

The Black Student Association was created to promote cultural awareness and knowledge to the students of NWACC.
Advisor: Sheree Miller - smiller26@nwacc.edu

Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship

The purpose of Chi Alpha is to fulfill the great commission (Matthew 28:19-20) by: sharing, discipling, and providing opportunities for fellowship, discussion, prayer and Biblical Training.
Advisor: Philip Antin – pantin@nwacc.edu.

Climbing Club at NWACC

The purpose of the Climbing Club is to connect students who are interested in climbing regardless of their experience level. The goal of the club is to introduce climbing to students that are interested in learning in a safe environment.
Advisors: Marcus Williams –mwilliams14@nwacc.edu

Cru at NWACC

The purpose of Cru at NWACC is to introduce students to Christ and help them to grow in their faith through fellowship and study of the Bible as well as to inspire commitment to advancing the purposes of God in the world. Advisor:

DREAMers of NWACC

Members of this club include allies of undocumented students and some undocumented students themselves who focus on making postsecondary education accessible for all young people, helping them stay in school to graduation. Members also advocate for Arkansas' youth through working for passage of the DREAM act at state and national levels.
Advisors: Juanita Franklin, jfranklin1@nwacc.edu, Kathryn Birkhead – kbirkhead@nwacc.edu

Enactus (formerly "SIFE")

"Seeing possibilities. Taking action. Enabling progress." We are a community of student, academic and business leaders committed to using the power of entrepreneurial action to transform lives and shape a better, more sustainable world. Enactus provides opportunities for students to network with business leaders and gain real-world experience through a variety of projects working with local businesses and nonprofit organizations. http://nwaccenactus.org
Advisor: Chris Neyland - cneyland@nwacc.edu, Matthew Voss - mvoss2@nwacc.edu

Gamma Beta Phi

This society is an honor and service organization for students in colleges and universities in the United States. The objectives of the organization are to recognize and encourage excellence in education; to promote the development of leadership ability and character in its members; and to foster, disseminate, and improve education through appropriate service projects.
Advisors: Marvin Galloway – mgallowa@nwacc.edu, Michael Willard – mwillard@nwacc.edu.

Gay-Straight Alliance

The purpose of this group is to allow a safe atmosphere for students of any sexual orientation or gender preference to congregate and discuss issues pertinent to those individuals who identify as gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning and straight. Advisors: Regina Johns - rjohns@nwacc.edu, April Brown – albrown@nwacc.edu

Health Information Management Student Organization

The purpose of our organization is to promote the HIM program on campus and throughout the area and to connect with HIM professionals throughout the United States.
Advisor: Tina Cikanek - tcikanek@nwacc.edu

Hispanic Scholarship Fund Chapter

The purpose of HSF Scholars Chapter at NWACC is to promote academic success among Latino students, and to develop student leaders through professional development and community service.
Advisor: Jorge Amaral – jamaral@nwacc.edu.

Hmong Culture Club

The purpose of this club is to promote awareness of Hmong culture and experience at NorthWest Arkansas Community College and it's community; to serve as a venue for Hmong and other students interested in the Hmong culture.
Advisor: Lou Lo – llo@nwacc.edu

Insatiable Ink

The goal of Insatiable Ink is to encourage and promote creative writing. For students who enjoy writing fiction, poetry, drama, or in other genres, this club offers a friendly place to share work and receive constructive feedback. Students interested in creative writing as a way to work through difficult times, or who write for the therapy of writing, are welcome. Students interested in exploring the craft of writing in general are welcome.
Advisor: Lindsay Hutton - lhutton2@nwacc.edu.

International Students Club

The purpose of ISC is to foster friendship amongst international and domestic students, to promote global awareness to NWACC and the community through volunteering, and to enhance college experience through fun club activities.
Advisor: Mary Machira – mmachira@nwacc.edu

Latin Culture Club

The Latin Culture Club fosters friendship among students with similar backgrounds while providing leadership and volunteer opportunities at NWACC and in the local community. The Latin Culture Club seeks to enhance the college experience through fun club activities and encourages leadership, education, and empowerment for members by activities and announcements of opportunities.
Advisor: Codie Ryan - cryan2@nwacc.edu and Beverly Grau - bgrau@nwac.edu

National Society of Leadership and Success

The Society is a community of leaders dedicated to creating lasting positive change and dedication to leadership. Pending members engage in leadership education through an orientation and two hour goal-setting training, three success network team meetings, and three interactive speaker events. Once all events are completed and a student has been inducted as a member to the society, he or she has the option to attend three more success network team meetings and three more interactive speaker events to earn "The Excellence Award."
Advisors: Jacqueline Jones: jjones13@nwacc.edu and Ashley Byrd - abyrd2@nwacc.edu

Pacific Islanders Club

The Pacific Islanders Club (to be known as Manit Club) honors the culture and traditions of the Marshallese people. Club members ill serve as leaders in their community and mentors to younger Marshallese to encourage their completion of high school and college enrollment.
Advisor: April Brown - albrown@nwacc.edu, Lou Lo - llo@nwacc.edu.

Phi Theta Kappa - Beta Kappa Psi Chapter

Phi Theta Kappa is the International Honor Society of the Two-Year College. Since its founding in 1918, the purpose of Phi Theta Kappa has been to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship, for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.
Advisor: Becky Hudson - rhudson1@nwacc.edu

Saudi Student Club

The purpose of this club is to provide an environment of camaraderie and support for students from Saudi Arabia.
Advisor: Lou Lo – llo@nwacc.edu

Sigma Kappa Delta

Sigma Kappa Delta – SKD is a chapter of the National English Honor Society for students at two-year colleges who LOVE to READ and want to encourage others to do so through on-campus and community service. Students must have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 to join. All majors are welcome!
Advisor: Sabrina Chesne - schesne@nwacc.edu

Student Ambassador and Activities Board

SAAB is composed of a team of student leaders selected to represent their fellow students to the college and the community. SAAB students give campus tours and plan activities for NWACC students.
Advisor: Becky Hudson - rhudson1@nwacc.edu.

Student Government Association

The purpose of the SGA is to promote and maintain an active communication between the administration, faculty, staff, and students; to promote unity among the students of NorthWest Arkansas Community College; to promote an environment which shall permit the development of character and intellectual growth; and to ensure the personal freedom and general welfare of the student body; to be the voice for students in all campus affairs.
Advisors: Christy Reynolds - creynolds@nwacc.edu, and Marcus Williams - mwilliams14@nwacc.edu

Student Nurses Association

This organization contributes to nursing education by providing for the highest quality health care, providing programs for current professional interests and concerns, and aiding in the development of the whole person, their professional role, and their responsibility for the health care of people in all walks of life.
Advisors: Judy Reeves – jreeves3@nwacc.edu, and Rebecca Schneringer – rschneringer@nwacc.edu

Students Helping Others (SHO)

The purpose of SHO is to serve Benton County with compassion through community outreach.
Advisors: Jean Anderson - janderso@nwacc.edu, Beverly Hill - bhill3@nwacc.edu

Theatre Club at NWACC

The purpose of the Drama Club is to promote the awareness of theatre arts for NWACC students on and off-camps, and to provide opportunities in theatre in addition to the academic curriculum of the theatre program.
Advisor: Ashley Edwards – aedwards3@nwacc.edu

Young Democrats at NWACC (YDNWACC)

The purpose of the YDNWACC is to promote the values of the Deocratic Party on the campus and surrounding community, to promote political awareness and involvement of the political process among students. The goal is to create strong leadership, awareness of the American political process and commitment, the value of voting and learning great communication skills. Motto: Servant Leaders to the People.
Advisors: Walter Hinojosa - whinojosa@nwacc.edu, Grace Woodson - gwoodson@nwacc.edu

Vets on Campus

The mission of the Vets on Campus organization i to provide a solid foundation and a voice for the Veterans on campus. Our focus is to network, educate and provide a social support team for all Veterans of NWACC. Membership: Any current student who is an Armed Forces member who has served or is currently serving and/or dependents of veterans.
Advisor: Dianna Portillo – dportill@nwacc.edu

Contact Information
Becky Hudson
Director of Student Life
479-986-6682
Location: Student Center Room 225 H
StudentLife@nwacc.edu